Forums / Support / so how does it actually work?

so how does it actually work?

hi (& happy new year to you all)

newbie here - I am considering using BB instead of scumware-full kazaa in order to try and find many missing songs i'm after. I have tried it before, after a fashion, but is seems that hardly any mp3 newsgroups submit full songs. Is this normal? or is it just that it's the holidays?

Is it worth downloading just parts of songs ? - how does one get the rest of the parts?
Is there a trick to doing this? I don't fancy leaving the pc connected & searching all day long, but is this what i have to do?

alternatively, should i just post a list of requests and offer swaps?
(i have hundreds of my own cds ripped at 192 or 224 usually, but generally delete the tracks i don't like, so can't offer "full albums")

suggestions gratefully received.

tim

BinaryBoy's reply to ttmh99 #437 @

Your server might not have a good feed or you might be looking in inactive newsgroups. Another possibility is that one of the Binary Boy settings is blocking a lot of stuff.

I searched the last 10,000 articles in 3 groups and found the following totals of complete mp3s:

311 in alt.binaries.sounds.1970s.mp3
16 in alt.binaries.sounds.1980s.mp3
493 in alt.binaries.sounds.mp3.1980s

Downloading incomplete files is most useful for previews (which you send to File | Dr. Binaryt) and also for downloading from multiple servers.

A major difference between a program like Kazaa and newsgroups is that in newsgroups you have to choose from what's been posted recently. You generally can't find a specific song right away.

ttmh99's reply to ttmh99 #439 @

I think i must be misunderstanding what a 'complete' mp3 is, it's true that BB scrolls through thousands of entries, but as i have checked the box 'complete files only' it only "finds" 40-60 per group, and half of those are for 'requests'